35 Remington Contender

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Mellon, Nov 3, 2008.

1. Mellon

Mellon G&G Newbie

I shoot a 35 Rem Contender. Would like to try Hornady XTP 180gr, 38 cal, .357 diameter out the front and not the sides or back. I am having difficulty finding load data. Suggestions?
  2. DWFan

DWFan G&G Enthusiast

A 180gr Hornady XTP-HP seated into the case exactly the same depth as another 180gr bullet (such as the Speer FN) can use those starting level loads. Maximum level loads may be entirely different. What you are trying to match here is case volume to a bullet weight, not overall length. You must be absolutely precise here; a difference of as little as .030" can drive pressures well past maximum.
  3. Mellon

Mellon G&G Newbie

DWFan: I am rather new to reloading this bullet. Do you mean that I should seat the bullets at the same depth as the recommended OAL in the load book? In the Contender load book for 35 rem .357 180 gr. FPJ the cartridge OAL is 2.340. I check each bullet I load with a micrometer for length.
  4. DWFan

DWFan G&G Enthusiast

Check my PM. It's how much bullet is below the case mouth (inside the neck) that you want to duplicate; not overall length.
    For example, if the 180gr FPJ bullet you mention is inserted into the neck .375" to achieve an OAL of 2.340", then the starting level loads for that bullet can be used as starting level loads for the 180gr Hornady XTP-HP if it is also seated the same .375" into the neck.
    Remember, this only applies to starting level loads.
  5. willyC

willyC G&G Newbie