45 Long Colt vs 45 ACP

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Doc Jones, Sep 9, 2009.

1. Doc Jones

Doc Jones G&G Newbie

I recently discovered (much to my delight) that there is such a thing as a 45 acp revolver (forgive me, I'm new to all of this).

Couple of questions...

First, how does the 45 acp cartridge compare to the 45 LC?

Second, the 45 acp revolver article was talking about using moon clips. Are those necessary because the 45 acp has a smaller rim and won't work in a revolver without one or is it just for speed loading?

Thanks folks.

Doc
  2. Metronome

Metronome G&G Newbie

Well, of course the .45 Colt is the older of the two cartridges, and the .45 ACP was actually developed to match the ballistics of the former.
    Without delving too deep into the specifics, the differences are minimal with the 'standard loads':
    .45 ACP 230 grain bullet @ 830 FPS (military ball load)
    .45 Colt 250 grain bullet @ 860 FPS (Remington)
    The .45 Colt will usually toss a heavier bullet, and can be loaded hotter in a stronger action.

As for using moon clips, that is pretty much the norm for a double action gun, but I have heard they work without them, but ejecting the cases won't work. If you get one of the Single action revolvers (Ruger) the moon clips aren't necessary.
  3. TXplt

TXplt Gun Toting Boeing Driver Forum Contributor

They're Ballistically

about the same.

Buffalo bore ammo makes a heavy standard pressure .45 LC which has similar ballistics to a heavy .45 ACP +P.