Best Mossberg 500 Configuration: Target and Self-defense (at home and in the woods)

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by matt09, Jun 9, 2009.

1. matt09

matt09 G&G Newbie

Long title.

Anyway, I've more-or-less settled on buying a Mossberg 500. My current issue is deciding on which configuration to buy. In general I want this gun for target shooting and for self defense. My fiance's family has a cabin that has both some sketchy neighbors that have shown up on the property as well as a few resident black bears (depending on the year).

I think I'd prefer a configuration that didn't require switching out the barrel (like the field/deer combo) but could still fire a variety of loads (slugs, buck shot, etc.)

I'll also throw out that I'm new to shotguns. Have a .22 for plinking, but that's it.
  2. xd45

xd45 G&G Newbie

While an 18 inch is ideal for defense, a 24 is a pretty decent compromise between the two. One question to ask yourself, would the possible defense situation be more likely inside? You mentioned "on the property". If its just running weirdos off, a longer barrel wont be too big a deal, but once your in the house, anything over 24 inches is gonna get cumbersome around corners.

While its extra cash, I highly recommend two different barrels for the gun. They are easy to swap out, you can do it under 30 seconds, and you can just keep the defender barrel on the gun until your going hunting. My personal opinion though.

Welcome to the forums!
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2009
  3. Oxford

Oxford G&G Enthusiast

I'm still looking for a bargain priced 28" Mossberg 500 for turkey hunting next season.
  4. unclejer

unclejer G&G Newbie