Bushmaster AR-15 loading problem

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Texan, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Texan

Texan G&G Newbie

Maybe somebody here can help me. I have a fairly new Bushmaster AR-15 that has problems loading from the mag. I can shoot 2 rounds and then it jams. The second bullet clears the chamber but the 3rd will hang and get jammed by the bolt between the mag and the receiver. I have to remove the mag, pull the charging lever and the bullet falls out. It will not chamber that 3rd round.

I first thought it was maybe the bolt was jamming so I cleaned it real good and that seemed to work. Went out to the range and NO jams. Then this past weekend went out and bang, bang, click. I WAS shooting Wolf ammo in a poly mag...switched to American ammo and a steel mag. NO difference... Went to see a gunsmith yesterday but he's 3-4 weeks behind.

Ya know I kinda remember this being a problem back in the '60s but can't remember what we did to remedy the problem other than throw it down and pick up an AK. So thought maybe my new friends here might have an idea.

A big thanks in advance,
    o~\o
  2. CrazyIvan

CrazyIvan G&G Newbie

Does the steel mag you switched to have a green or black follower? The black follower was an old one from the 70's and is not as reliable as the newer green one.

Also, perhaps the ejector is bad or worn. Check it out.
  3. Texan

Texan G&G Newbie

Okay, Ivan, two good clues. The followers in the poly and the steel mags are black. Am going to be talking to Cheaper Than Dirt this afternoon on a couple another items so will throw some green ones in my cart.

As far as the ejector...this gun is brand new but is an older gun that was in an estate. The owner told me the gun had been out of the box maybe 4-5 times but never fired...and it looked it when I bought it. BUT that's not saying the ejector isn't bad. Another item for the cart.

Thanks,
    o~\o
  4. Pred

Pred Suspended