Buying through private seller

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Jellybean18, Feb 9, 2010.

1. Jellybean18

Jellybean18 G&G Newbie

*note* Sorry if this doesnt seem very coherent, I've been up for 22 hr. now.

I'm about to buy a handgun from a guy I work with. He got into a lot of trouble with his wife when she found out that he bought it and told him its her or the gun. It's not stolen or anything, he just got it a few days ago. Its the 4th Gen Glock 22. I live in AL and the law says I can buy a handgun through a private seller at 18 (I'm 19). I'm majoring in Law Enforcement and I want to go ahead and get a jump start on weapons training. My parents don't even acknowledge my decision, and they don't support getting a handgun. Hence me buying through private seller. I've called both my police Dept. and Sherriff's office, and the people there have MAJOR attitudes and aren't helpful in any way shape or form. So My questions are these: What do I need to do to get the gun transferred into my name? What does the seller need to do? It probably looks like a "Straw purchase" but it's not. How long should I wait before we have the gun transferred into my name so that it doesn't look like a straw purchase (which again, it is NOT). To my understanding, a straw purchase would be if I had him purchase the gun just so he could have it transferred to my name. Is that correct? But because he never had the intent of selling the gun when he bought it, it wouldn't be a straw purchase. My family is pretty well know in my town, and we're family friends of the Sheriff. So in your reply, please let me know if you were the sheriff, what you would do? Also, AL law says that I need a pistol permit to move a handgun in my truck. The county says i need to be 21 to get one (State says 18, but counties can set it higher). Are Sheriff's aloud to make exceptions for individuals? If one of the surrounding counties age limit is 18/19, could I get a permit from there? If ANYTHING I've said in