Camel Gun

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Brown1718, Jan 29, 2009.

1. Brown1718

Brown1718 G&G Newbie

I recently was asked by a friend to clean up an Camel Gun from Afghanistan that he received from his father quite some time ago. I thought that I would carefully take it apart if possible and clean it up a bit and try to find out a little bit more about it. I have attached a couple pics. Has anyone seen anything like this or have any recommendations on how to clean it up? I have a muzzleloader and am familiar with how to clean blackpowder etc, but I have no experience with something like this. I am more interested in just cleaning it up and preserving it the best I can.

Attached Files:

2. Cyrano

Cyrano Resident Curmudgeon Forum Contributor

I'd really think twice about taking it apart, especially if you have no intention of shooting it. Getting something that old apart can be tricky and putting it back together trickier yet. I's simply make sure it was unloaded and then concentrate on cleaning it and protecting the metal and the wood.

You might want to think about starting with Dawn Degreasing Dishwashing Detergent on the wood and ivory because it's gentle. But after that, you'll have to see what you have and what (if any) finish is on it before proceeding.
  3. Iron_Colonel

Iron_Colonel G&G Newbie

Very interesting gun there. Hard to say how to go about cleaning it. Never seen anything like it. Do the brass bands just slide off? Are there screws to remove the metal parts and the barrel from the wood? If it has been sitting around for a long time and doesn't have any rust or anything on it, might do an oil rub on the barrel to further prevent rusting from happening. Unless you are determined to take it apart and clean everything... Cyrano's suggestion is pretty good to start. Does your friend expect it to be refinished? Can you see if there is any rust or anything in the barrel?
  4. cheapblaster

cheapblaster G&G Enthusiast