Concealed Carry and "Mental Illness"

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by ninjatoth, Dec 6, 2009.

1. ninjatoth

ninjatoth G&G Newbie

Under Michigan law,there is nothing that stops a person with a mental illness from purchasing handguns.If they have been involuntarily committed to an institution etc,then they can't buy handguns.Well,I have a mental illness and have legally bought a handgun,but under Michigan law,a person "must not have a mental illness at the time the application was made" to get a concealed pistol permit.Might I mention my mental illness-it's OCD(obsessive compulsive disorder).I am still in the process of asking around and writing to the state police asking questions,haven't heard back yet,but in you guys' opinion,should I not be carrying a gun while having OCD?Do you think I am a risk?Michigan does.
  2. G. Green

G. Green G&G Newbie

I'm not a medical pro, but from what I know about OCD I don't see it as a legit disqualifier. Is there a list of disqualifying ailments? Seems to me that a lot of returning soldiers and some LEOs have been treated for depression (and rightly so). Should they be disqualified? Sounds to me like the mental health pros weren't consulted or had an agenda of their own.
  3. GlockMeister

GlockMeister G&G Enthusiast

Confirm this with a lawyer, but unless you've been adjudicated mentally defective or retarded in front of and or by a judge, you have anything to worry about. Nothing needs to be mentioned. But DO NOT listen to me. I only say this because someone asked me to find some information out for them in regards to them getting their FOID card and that is what I was told. And I was told that by someone at the NRA in the NRA-ILA division.

And if or when you call a lawyer, call one that deals with and handles gun law/s...You could, like I did, even call the NRA or NRA-ILA?