How far can you shoot a 45?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Aaron88, Jan 21, 2010.

1. Aaron88

Aaron88 G&G Newbie

I got to go shooting with some family friends and we were mainly shooting pistols but the pistol range area was full so we were shooting a little farther than normal I think it was 40 yards. The guns were 22s and 357s and with some of the faster 22s they would reach out to almost the 100yards mark but they would really fall after 80yards or so. the 357s were also shooting really flat and it was easyto hit things like bottles and jugs we had out there. That was some of the most fun shooting i have ever done using handguns at long ranges which I guess is just plinking because we didn't have targets.

I had wanted a 45 for my pistol but do they shoot as far like what I described, it seems like people say they are slow and heavy but I thought there powerful enough. Or would a 9mm pistol reach out because it moves faster? If I got a Armscor rock island 1911 or a glock 17 is some options.
  2. BORIS

BORIS Suspended

Your 45 will hit just as far as a 9mm will, it just drops faster. Once you figure out that drop you will be good to go.

The farthest I have done is 200 yards on a 16" round steel plate. I have to aim pretty darn high and at that range being off just a little at the starting point makes for being off alot at the target. Hits far out will be "easier" at first with the G17 until you learn the range and drop of the 45.......
  3. KW Gary M

KW Gary M Suspended