Looking for a coyote rifle

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by mosin_sniper, May 5, 2006.

1. mosin_sniper

mosin_sniper G&G Newbie

Hey everyone. I'm just getting into hunting coyotes and was hoping to get some advice about what kind of rifle I should look into. I have used my Savage .22 for some time and am pretty good with it, but my friends tell me that it isn't strong enough for coyotes. So I went down to the local gun shop and looked at some rifles in my price range. So far I am looking at a Mosin Nagant M91/30 using 7.62x54r rounds. The other rifle is a Turkish M-48 Mauser 8mm. Either of these guns will run me about $200.00 before scope and ammo. If I can't find anything else, I'll go with one of these. Please note that my budget limits me to about $300.
  2. myarmor

myarmor G&G Newbie

Many good options for around $300.
    Here's a couple:
    http://www.hr1871.com/Firearms/Rifles/hunter.aspx
    These can be excellent shooters, and you always have the option of many other calibers offered. Usually for around $100 or so. The rifle it's self sells for around $250 or so. If you don't want the fancy Laminates you can go synthetic or wood, these are around $200.

http://www.savagearms.com/st_200short.htm
    Also another good choice. Same old proven Savage action, in a new packange and an excellent price too. Any where from $250-300.

Coyotes don't need a lot of "kill'n" though without a doubt a hit from a Mosin or Mauser would take care of any out there....elk for that matter :D
    Just depends on what caliber you want and what setup you desire.
  3. Mooseman684

Mooseman684 G&G Newbie

I hunt Coyote and Fox up here with a.22 loaded with CCI Stingers because I want to save the Hides and not blow big holes or bloody them up too bad.
    The 7.62 (30 cal) or 8mm is a bit large for a dog sized animal in my opinion but something in the line of .222 or .223 or .243 would give some long distance flat shooting accuracy and be devastating on that size target.