Looking for a Rifle

Discussion in 'General Rifle' started by Ollpheist, Jul 11, 2011.

1. Ollpheist

Ollpheist G&G Newbie

As my introduction thread states, I'm a writer working on a book. My main character up to this point has been carrying a Ruger (specifically, the M-30/20GBCPC in 7.62x39mm). Someone I know suggested against Ruger because of a problem with broken firing pins after about two thousand rounds, and the lack of aftermarket fixes for the problem.

So here's my dilemma: I'm looking for a reliable 7.62x39mm that's comparable to the Ruger. In order to switch it out and still keep my scenes the same, I need the following in a rifle:

• An overall length of no more than 37".
    • Made from alloyed steel.
    • 20-round clip capability.
    • No more than 7 pounds in weight.
    • Preferably the same loading and firing procedures as the Ruger M-30/20GBCPC
    Help, pretty please?
  2. FS00008

FS00008 Сергей Иванович Мосин. Forum Contributor

3. lefty o

lefty o G&G Enthusiast

i get a $50 consulting fee!
  4. hemingway89

hemingway89 G&G Enthusiast

ar 15 with a 7.62x39 upper its the only other thing i know of the 7.62x39 made with alloy. but aks are cheaper easier to find.
  5. Henri

Henri G&G Newbie

Have him machine his own weapon, one of a kind? It worked for Blade & Whistler.
    Its hard to get caught in misinformation, if you created the information to begin with.
    Jim Butcher, Dresden Files author, should stay away from firearm specifics because of piss poor research.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
  6. texnmidwest

texnmidwest Sir Loin of Beef Forum Contributor