Marlin 39a stock refinishing questions

Discussion in 'Rimfire Rifles' started by alaskanhunter, Mar 6, 2012.

1. alaskanhunter

alaskanhunter G&G Newbie

I have an older 39a and id like to refinish its stock. What type of finish should I use? alot of people reccomend Tru Oil. How do I use it? Do you stain the stock first and then put on the Tru Oil or do you use only the Tru oil? Also when removing the old finish should I use a finish remover or just sand it? Thanks for the help, this is my first attempt at refinishing a stock and I dont want to screw it up
  2. GLS_1956

GLS_1956 G&G Regular

alaska43:

I've minimal experience refinishing stocks. but I have taken on a couple or so.

Personally, all I have ever used for the finish is boiled linseed oil, hand rubbed in. I've been tols it can be cut with mineral spirits to get it to penatrate deeper into the wood..

If there is a non oil finish on the rifle, you'll need to remove it prior to appling a new finish. I'd use a chemical stripper, the wet sand with increasingly fine emory paper, then apply your stain if you choose to use stain.

Apply the boiled linseed oil sparingly, in light coats, by hand. Not with a brush. Rub in one coat, and let it dry for a few hours to a day or more. Then repeat, repeat and repeat. You might decide to give a it a light sanding with either a very fine emory paper, or ever a very fine stainless steelwool.

I"m sure that Tru-oil has instructions for the use of their product And it will provide a good finish. But in any course. there is nothing like a hand rubbed oil finish on a stock.

GLS
  3. swedesrus

swedesrus G&G Enthusiast

Annie Oakley`s favorite rifle, Would depend on what year it was made to what the wood was treated with.......
  4. big shrek

big shrek G&G Enthusiast

FYI, Tru-oil is made from BLO and other oils to give it a fast-drying quality that does not crack, cloud, or yellow over time.