Most accurate Bolt Action under $1000?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Domonlord, Jul 23, 2008.

1. Domonlord

Domonlord G&G Newbie

Hello all,
    I just stumbled across these forums, and it seems to be filled with knowledgeable folks. Here's the situation... I'm new to guns, but I plan on buying a bolt action rifle for both deer hunting and for target shooting. Whatever rifle I end up choosing, I will end up mounting it with a Leupold VX-III scope and probably .308 caliber. I'm pretty much only interested in the black rifles. (Synthetic I suppose, as I just don't feel wood stocks symbolize high tech. Personal preference in other words)

I had originally planned on getting a Remington 700 SPS in .308, but I've heard that they are junk compared to the CDL as the CDL is superior in every way. But... I don't dig the wooden look of the CDL.

After I found out about all this on these forums, I decided to go pick up a copy of Field and Stream, The Accuracy Issue.

I saw the Sako A7 and really like the look, but is it really that much more accurate than the Remington 700 SPS? Any other black bolt actions I should be looking at?

Thanks a ton in advance for reading all this. :D
  2. ArkansasHunter

ArkansasHunter G&G Newbie

Assumeing were not includeing custom built rifles the Brand and make that comes to my mind would be a Westherby Vanguard Sub-Moa rifle.

I got to say though it seems in the latter part of 2006 until now most American gun manufactures are selling extremely accurate production guns as well as some Imports like the Browning's new X-Bolt.

I hate sounding like a broken record but I have one of the new Ruger Hawkeye boltaction rifles in 308. It's as accurate as it can get.

If you want out of the box gauranteed accuratcy then the Sub-Moa Weatherby Vanguard is a start and worth looking into.

But there's other rifle's too so let's see what the other members here say...A.H
  3. SoDakHunter

SoDakHunter G&G Newbie