Muratic Acid for cleaning brass?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Full MeTal Jack, Dec 22, 2009.

1. Full MeTal Jack

Full MeTal Jack G&G Newbie

Had a wild hair today. Have been cleaning lots of 308 brass in tumbler. Some of this stuff is old and has that oily dirty feel.
    I threw a cartridge in some Muratic Acid. We clean Hastolloy and Siliconized brass with the acid. It cleaned it quick inside and out.
    For you chemistry majors, could this be an acceptable method to clean dirty brass? Any Chem problems with acid and brass?

Finnish it off with tumble to polish.
  2. Slow Go

Slow Go G&G Newbie

I'm no chemistry expert but I have worked with Muratic for a lot of years.

First, any acid will clean and remove surface oxides (tarnish) from brass. A brief exposure is unlikely to do any harm to the alloy.

Second, Muratic is quite strong and difficult to completely remove even with vigerous flushing. I would suggest you flush and then soak in a baking soda neutralizing solution before drying and tumbling. And any splashes on skin or, especially, eyes can be devastating if not rapidly neutralized.

Third, the traditional acid soak for cleaning cartridge brass is simple vinegar. A couple hours or less soaking will do the job and be as easy to flush as it need be. And vinegar fumes are harmless and non-corrosive, unlike Muratic. Not only are those stronger fumes very harmful to mucus membranes, eyes and even skin, the fumes will also condense on any metal in the area and cause significant corrosion or rust. No matter its effects on the brass, Muratic has some bad downsides, really isn't worth the problems in my opinon. Use vinegar instead.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  3. wcassidy

wcassidy G&G Newbie