Now for a scope ???

Discussion in 'AR15' started by ninwnc, Apr 12, 2012.

1. ninwnc

ninwnc G&G Newbie

I haven't been to the range yet, but I know me. When I do, I'll decide to scope the AR. So just to get ahead of the game, I thought I would go ahead and ask for ideas.

My other rifles have Tasco or Simmons scopes, and am happy with them. One .303 has a stubby 4X Leapers. (I used to raise chickens and It was my, 50 yard, dog gun.) Something in the $100-150 range is fine with me.

Will the front sight interfere with the scope, or do I need high mounts?

I know I'm new to the AR fourm and will try not to be a pain with all my questions.

Nick
  2. WisconsinHunter

WisconsinHunter G&G Newbie

You wont even see that front sight when your scope is past 3x, so don't worry about that. You'll want high enough rings that you get a good cheek weld though.

What magnification scope do you want, what will you be using this rifle for?
  3. ChaZam

ChaZam G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

A scope and mount configured like this will allow a decent cheek weld and allow you get your nose against the charging handle. Mounts that don't position the scope forwards like this will have you holding your head upright and too far back for a proper cheek weld to get the proper eye relief and sight picture. Mounts like that run from about the $40 range to $200 plus. With scopes the sky is the limit, and of course there are also the Aimpoints, Eotechs, ACOGs, etc that you might consider. This particular scope and mount was about $250.00 and serves my purpose and fit the budget I had to work with.

Accessorizing the AR platform is a full time job as there are so many choices and darn it we can't possibly test them all.

Attached Files:

4. Michael Allen

Michael Allen G&G Newbie