Pillar bedding an ATI stock

Discussion in 'Mosin Nagant' started by roggom, Oct 9, 2010.

1. roggom

roggom G&G Enthusiast

If you have an ATI stock, you already know what a pain in the rear it was to inlet and fit your action. Also as you tighten the guard screws the barrel moves in any sort of direction.

Well I planned on bedding one of my mausers and wanted to practice a little. The good news is the pillar material can be found at your local Ace or other hardware store. 3/8 aluminium tubing has an ID of .270 and my guard screws are .258 OD, nice fit.

You can find many links on how to bed, but since the ATI stock has many voids, I decided to bed the pillars .050 high. This way the action and barrel will not move no matter how tight the guard screws are.

This is my first time at bedding but the results were satisfactory, maybe not to asthetically pleasing. I was a little liberal with the mud, so there are some rough spots where the mud was not compressed, but I can clean it up a bit.

I used Devcon 10110 as my epoxy and both Kiwi neutral wax and white lithium as release agents. The Devcon gets very hard and I didnt want to risk locking my action into the stock. You can still see some lithium on the surface of the epoxy. The Devcon runs about $35, but there is enough to do many rifles.

One last note, do not mud anywhere near the ejector or you will be inletting again.

Now the barrel is free floating and the action is solidly in place, gotta take it to the range and check the results.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 9, 2010
  2. Iron_Colonel

Iron_Colonel G&G Newbie

Looks neat. I've been needing to do this to an ATI stock I bought. I've got a Tula ex-sniper I'm going to put in the stock. Did you do the same for the front lug as well? The mag well also?
  3. Tha Dave

Tha Dave G&G Enthusiast