Places to shoot near southern California?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by rentien, Jun 5, 2007.

1. rentien

rentien G&G Newbie

Hello,

I am fairly new to guns, i've shot .22 rifles and a 30-06 before and a couple pistols, but now i've purchased my own Chinese SKS for hobby's sake.

I purchased 500 rounds of Wolf's 7.62*39mm FMJ ammo. I went to the range this weekend and found out they don't let me fire this ammunition because it creates fires since it has... steel in it? i'mn really not sure but it stuck to a magnet.

Does anyone know where i can go to just shoot off this ammo and still use it?

I'm thinking maybe a desert area where its safe but no rules to control what kind of ammunition i fire.

I guess cloest is best. but any place will work that is within an hour's drive.

I live around West LA (I go to UCLA, so i live around there)

thanks in advance.

actually, if anyone also knows a gun range that allows my bi-metal ammunition that would work too.
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2007
  2. .22guy

.22guy G&G Enthusiast

I don't really know of any places you can shoot that stuff around there, but I'm wondering why steel core ammo will cause fires. Is it because of the steel hitting rocks and causing sparks?
  3. rentien

rentien G&G Newbie

i honestly have no idea, but thats the assumption i was under (steel and rocks = sparks)

all i know is that some gun ranges do not allow ammo that sticks to magnets
  4. just_a_car

just_a_car G&G Newbie

Usually that's because they contain a steel core and damage their targets or target holders worse than lead.

Unfortunately, sometimes ammo is lead core with a steel jacket and will stick to a magnet.

Also, the steel in normal steel core ammo isn't hardened steel or "armor piercing". I've read many cases where rangemasters have used the excuse that they don't allow AP rounds, even though that's not the case.:banghead: