Ruger 10/22 Reliability problems

Discussion in 'Ruger' started by alaskanhunter, Apr 20, 2011.

1. alaskanhunter

alaskanhunter G&G Newbie

Im having problems with my ruger, both failure to feed and stove pipes. It dosent seem like I can even get through a 10rd mag anymore without several jams. I have been using Win Wildcats in this rifle since I bought it 5 years ago, and have never had problems before. A friend recomended a Volquarsten extractor, would this fix the problem? The extractor looks fine on mine and it ejects shells several feet so I dont see how it would help. The Wildcats work fine in my Ruger MK3. I cant figure it out. Thanks for any help.
  2. MosinRuger

MosinRuger G&G Enthusiast

the only time that i have had issues with my 10/22 was when i cleaned it one time and put wayyy too much oil on the bolt and action, i guess it was enough to slow down the cycling just enough so that it would extract/feed properly. after a week or two of that i cleaned it again and just put a light coat of oil on it and it has run fine ever since. This was only shortly after i got the gun and started shooting and was still sorta green.

Its def not like my AR who loves oil!
  3. H-BAR

H-BAR G&G Newbie

hello fellow sourdough!

10/22's can be finicky when it comes to to much oil, or type of oil used. i had a 10/22 i inherited from my brother in law that had seen so much WD-40 spritzes to it's innards it was a single shot when i got it.

2 other things to look at for quick fixes, is your magazine, and firing pin if your extractor doesn't look worn or chipped.

mag lips can get worn and hold lead and powder fowling, witch will slow your bolt down a bit. loose lips might also cause the slide to drag on the next bullet coming into battery. if you run more then 1 mag, and still have have the problem you can probably ignore this step, unless there both the culprit, and that's doubtable