Safe .45-70 Loads For H&R Buffalo Classic

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Brother Bob, Feb 10, 2008.

1. Brother Bob

Brother Bob G&G Evangelist Forum Contributor

I'm questioning the strength of this rifle. It's two years old and a single shot at that. Similar to the Ruder#1. It has a 32 inch barrel which will probably get my fps. on up there. I'm just getting into reloading and I don't want to blow myself or my rifles up. There are three different sections on reloading for the .45-70. Any thoughts?
  2. rfc357

rfc357 G&G Newbie

It is by no means similar to the Ruger #1. If it were, it would cost as much as a Ruger #1. While these rifles are good buys, they are not as strong as a solid-frame rifle with a dropping block. I would use the loads intended for the trapdoor. You exceed these at your peril.

No break-action rifle is suitable for high-pressure loads. Even the best English double guns are made for low-pressure loads. And the H&R ain't no English "best gun."

I know lots of people will now say, "I loaded top loads in mine and nothing bad happened." It's your rifle, and your call. If you want to use Ruger #1 loads, my advice would be to get a Ruger #1.

I have a Ruger #3 in .45-70. I have loaded some moose-blaster loads, and they are no fun at all to shoot. Trapdoor-level loads are more than adequate for deer.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2008
  3. Cyrille

Cyrille G&G Newbie

Use Black Powder it is far more forgiving than smokeless, and if you know how you may be able to work up to a full load. Read a good Blackpowder reloading manual! BE SAFE!
  4. nathangdad

nathangdad G&G Newbie

H&R is high quality

H&R is high quality and you can bet Marlin
    makes sure of it.

As to the .45-70, you really might want to think
    before loading hot loads as this cartridge has plenty
    going for it in the new regular factory loads. I would
    explore various brands of ammo on the market before
    I got into loading higher power loads.