Star 9mm trash or treasure

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Sooner Shooter, Mar 3, 2008.

1. Sooner Shooter

Sooner Shooter G&G Newbie Forum Contributor

This STAR is my first 9 and I picked it up used for $200 a couple of years ago. I haven't shot many others so I don't know how to compare it. I'm not very good with it but then again I'm not very good with any handgun bigger than a 22. It fires and ejects fine with factory ammo. I know it was made and used in Spain and I believe as a police or military weapon so surely it can't be entirely bad but tell me your experiences. I don't care if you bash it or not. The pistol is a Star BM model. Bashing is okay but calling it the Bowel Movement model would just be cruel so I beat you to it. Let me know!
  2. Windwalker

Windwalker G&G Newbie

Lol, never had one of that model but I did have a Firestar in .45 cal. I shot a lot of rounds through with never any problems, and the accuracy was good.
  3. Big Dog

Big Dog Dinosaur Wrangler Forum Contributor

There is nothing wrong with Star pistols. I love my Modelo Super (9mm Largo). :)
  4. BaserRonin

BaserRonin G&G Newbie

Star B

I love my Star B's. I have quite a few of them actually, and carry one pretty regularly. When I want to go slimmer then a 1911, thats what I grab. It has been 100% reliable, and I have found it to be more then accurate enough for "plinking".

I haven't bought one in years, so not sure what to say about the purchase price. Overall though, I have found them to be a fine 9mm.
  5. rick343

rick343 G&G Newbie

I have a Star 9mm Largo and I love it. I had a tough time finding ammo for it but have some now. I got mine and a Norenco 45 auto for $300. The Star looks brand new. Good luck with yours.

PONTIACDM G&G Newbie

I love the star pistols. I had the model bm, b, and the 45(1911 copy). All were really accurate and reliable. The only problem I had was with the bm. It didn't like weak loads, hot loads worked awesome. I wish I still had them.