XD vs. XDM

Discussion in 'Springfield Armory' started by GunTechie, Mar 23, 2010.

1. GunTechie

GunTechie G&G Newbie

I will be in the market for a new 9mm and I am trying to decide between an XD and XDM. The XD is less expensive, the XDM takes more rounds.

Any Thoughts Folks?
  2. shooter1

shooter1 G&G Newbie

Xdm

My vote is for the XDM, Match barrel, better ergonomics, with a few other updates that I can't remember right now.

Honestly though I think the XDM is just a marketing ploy for more sales because the standard XD is a fine weapon. jmo

Shooter
  3. 9mmXDm

9mmXDm Suspended

I have the XDm and I love it.

- 19+1 rd. capacity
    - Match barrel
    - Three different backgrips
    - Comes with two magazines
    - Comes with a paddle holster
    - Comes with a mag holster
    - Comes with a speedloader

Never fired the XD, so I have no experience with it. However the XDm is a great handgun and I would recommend it to anyone. I was thinking of going Glock and even though I would still like one the XDm just felt right in my hands while the Glock felt funny to me.

Also I have put now around 500-600 rounds through her and she has only stovepiped once on (Remington 115gr. UMC). And it also misfeed and tried to feed two rounds with I do believe it was (American Eagle 115gr.)

Also field stripping it is a breeze and cleaning it is pretty pain free. I have got my cleaning down to about 30-45 minutes and 45 minutes is with a more detailed using more Qtips to get into the grooves.
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2010
  4. nathangdad

nathangdad G&G Newbie

Well,

my son has the xdm and we both love it so that gets my vote.
  5. GunTechie

GunTechie G&G Newbie

Looks unanimous to me...
    The additional cost seems justified by the Second Mag, add'l capacity, holsters and speedloader.
  6. 147 Inches

147 Inches G&G Newbie

From a rest I hit several times a 2 foot iron plate at 100 yards with my XDm .40 and I am not the best shot...