close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

1:7 twist vs. 1:9 twist

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by 1BigPig, Aug 5, 2008.

1. 1BigPig

1BigPig G&G Newbie

Can someone explain to me the positives/negatives or advantages/disadvantages and differences between 1:9 twist barrels and 1:7 twist barrels? It seems like with most brands the 1:7 twist is an upgrade.

2. GlockMeister

GlockMeister G&G Evangelist

I'm no expert, but here's what I know. The 1:7 twist can stabilize heavier bullets more so then the 1:9 twist rate. The 1:9 is the most common of the 2 when it comes to factory builds and for the most part, custom and home builds as well. The 1:7 is a choice for many home and custom builds as well though. 1:7 twist has it advantages over 1:9 which is why it's considered an upgrade from the 1:9.
    I'm sure there's more to it then this, but that's what I've picked up on it. Hope it helps even a little.

Last edited: Aug 5, 2008
  3. wunhunglo

wunhunglo G&G Newbie

The heavier bullets only really come into their own at longer ranges. If you're not going to be shooting at over 300 yards and unless you're getting into competitive shooting, a 1 in 9 will probably be all you'll need. I'm a middle of the road guy so I got a 1 in 8 and shoot 75-80 gn bullets at up to 600m. Would a 1 in 7 be better for me?? I don't know, but on a good day I can put all the rounds in the x-ring at 600m with what I've got.

4. GlockMeister

Hey wun, is then 75gr too much for a 1:9 twist? If so, what about 69gr.?

5. wunhunglo

wunhunglo G&G Newbie