223 dpms: what is accuracy @ 300 yds? price?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by trigger204, Dec 25, 2008.

1. trigger204

trigger204 G&G Newbie

i'm just beginning to look at high powered rifles and i think i might be interested in the DPMS in a 223 caliber to take out some coyotes in my area and to just play around with. i'm sure this is the age old question but just how accurate would one be out to 300 yards? how much do i have to pay for one that i can mount a descect scope onto?

2. cb671

cb671 G&G Enthusiast

IF you Build your own you can probably get it a bit cheaper than going thru the manufactrer or shop .... Most DPMS Complete Rifle's I've seen are in the $1k and up range. You can build your own for abit cheaper. DPMS Lower about $400+ and complete Flat Top Upper about $400+. If your going for Pinpoint Accuracy you can go with a Bull Barrel...but I've seen some shot's with the reg Barrel's group within 3" at 300yds. Plus also depending on the Brand of Ammo you are shooting...Try to stay away from the Wolf brand of ammo ... they are good for fun shooting only, just get some better ammo for hunting like either Federal, Remington etc. As for Scope's..depend's on your Budget...but Bushnell is a Great Bang for your Buck. And their Optic's are Good. Nikon's, Leica's are the more expensive brand as well as a few other's but their Optic's are Top Notch.

3. wunhunglo

wunhunglo G&G Newbie

A good 20" hbar with the right ammo and the right shooter will keep them within the 3" at 300 yards. With a 24" varmint/bull barrel, hopefully much better.
    How much to pay?......................well that depends on you, guaranteed accuracy costs money!

4. bluealtered

bluealtered G&G Newbie