Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I have been looking at a rifle in my local gunstore and i like the look of it and it is a very nice price. It is a tikka t3 hunter in good condition. The only problem is that it is in .270 and i have no experience with this caliber at all.

• If you guys could tell me how this caliber shoots? ie. flat, distance etc.
  • How available is ammunition?
  • What sort of animal is this round capable of taking down easily - i am looking at shooting wild pigs and deer.
Let me know your thoughts,

Thanks guys....

Lachlan

·
Registered
740 Posts
The .270 is a 30-06 necked down to .270. It's ideal for deer and pigs. In the USA it is one of the most common ammo on the shelf. Tikka is a fine high powered rifle. Some prefer the .270 over the 30-06 because the recoil is less.

·
Registered
11,239 Posts
It will . . .

. . .definitely do deer and pigs. This is a very well established cartridge and will not disappear from your dealer's shelves. It is most popular in
a factory loaded 130 grain bullet.

·
Registered
11,239 Posts
Not established as a target round

The .270 Winchester has never developed a reputation on the
target competition scene. That does not mean it is not perfectly
adequate for hunting - it is just not a competitive target round.

Browning has the BOSS system of using a moveable weight at the end of
the barrel to bring greater accuracy to rounds such as the .270 Winchester. You might wish to go to the Browning web site to begin a study of this type device.

Also, some people prefer heavier weight barrels as a aid to increased accuracy.

But, realistically, a .270 was designed for hunting and it is well proven in
that role. In a rifle of the quality you mention you should
have no accuracy dissatisfaction.

·
Resident Sasquatch
9,496 Posts