Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI there,

I'm quite new to reloading and i have recently acquired a new .308 Tikka. I am wondering where i should start. Am i better to buy factory ammo to start or should i just kick off with reloading?

For reloading, what weight projectiles would be a wise place to start? Also please recommend some good powders to use.

Cheers

·
Banned
1,026 Posts
Do you have reloading gear?If so do you have someone close by who can show you how to use it if you dont already know?

It all depends on what you want to do?Reload or buy and shoot then reload the brass you save.

also depends what you are going to hunt?Pigs?goats?deer?

Ive been loading some 308 for a mate for a few years now.He is very happy with the nosler balistic tips in 130gn for general spotlighting or rabbits,cats,foxes.But for anything larger i load him 150gn highland SP.If he ever wanted to use it on deer i would load some rem corelokts or powerpoint wins.

I was using ADI ar2206 powder and have now started using ADI ar2206h and ar2208.Ar2206 has been discontinued.But was a very good powder.

·
Registered
5,268 Posts
We need all the details. What you gonna be shooting, aminals/paper, ranges, barrel length, rifling twist.
Probably best to buy some factory rounds to start, at least gives you a standard to relate to and a supply of reloadable cases.

For reloading, get a good book to start with or check out what powders are available locally, then do a web search for starting loads using those powders; almost all the major powder providers do an online loading chart. Before you touch off that first reload, make yourself familiar with the signs of over-pressure.

I've got a 22", 1:10 that loves 41.8gns IMR 4895 in a Lapua case behind a 167gn lapua scenar.

·
Registered
5,726 Posts