375 WEATHERBY

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by AKROADKILL, May 15, 2008.

1. AKROADKILL

AKROADKILL Guest

DOSE ANY ONE OUT THERE SHOOT ONE IM JUST WONDERING. IVE BEEN HUNTING WITH MINE FOR 12 YEARS I HAVE LOADED A LOT OF LOADS WITH IT AND WITH 90GR OF 760 ON A 300 GRAIN BULLET GETING A TAD BIT UNDER 3000 FPS AND WITH A 260 NOS ACUBOND WITH THE SAME LOAD A LITTLE OVER 3200 FPS I HAVE OTHER LOAD IF ANYONE IS INTRESEAD IN THIS CAL:scool:

2. Midas

Midas Chief Troll B' Gone Forum Contributor

I own and hunt with a .375 H&H, which is slightly behind the .375 Weatherby, and I'm having a hard time believing the velocities that you are claiming to have achieved with the Weatherby, The fastest I have seen anyone push a 300 grain bullet out of a .375 Weatherby, is around 2800 FPS, what kind of 300 grain bullet are you shooting? And the fastest I have seen a 260 Accubond, is around 3000 FPS. Now, I could believe this if you were using a .378 Weatherby, but a .375 Weatherby just won't cut the mustard.

3. AKROADKILL

AKROADKILL Guest

i can tell you for a fact through tring diff loads for it and three of my freinds hunt with a 375 weatherby to and two of them are hunting guides here in alsaska who i have loaded for there rifles and have gotten close to same vel in the congraph. the only one that was less with a interarms mark 10 with a 20 barrel geting 2500 fps with a 300 grain nos partion with 90 gr of 760. another load i have used as a starting load and never change becuase it shot good was a barnes 250 xb with 80 gr of imr 4064 getting 2950 with it. i know i could improve the velc a bit but the acrucy was there. so i stuck with it. all of the reloading info i seen for this cal was 375 h&h vel and i started there as a begaining in to loading for the 375 weatherby. i have tried nos par hornday and kodiak bonded core bullets in 300 grain.

4. sell33

sell33 G&G Enthusiast