Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys just found this forum and hope some one can help me. I just inherited a 1910 Winchester .401 self loading rifle and i am looking for some where to buy ammo. Thanks, Don

·
Registered
11,919 Posts
I'm not familiar with ammo sources for that round, but would love to learn more about the rifle. Pics would be wonderful!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Photobucket Login

Hope this works as i am new to this. My mom shot her first moose with this gun in 1960 here in British Columbia, Canada. She passed away in 2002 and my real father in 1970. Ive had a step dad for the last 30 years and he passed away in May. He told me i can have these guns when he was gone so i picked them up a few days ago. One is a Mauser .22 long rifle(1936), the next is a .303 British, not sure of the year, and the last is the .401 Winchester self loader (1910). I only have 4 bullets in the box and was trying to find some more. Hope you enjoy the pics as much as im going to cherish the guns.

Don

·
Registered
4 Posts
401-winchester package

I inherited a 401 winchester from my dad's estate and although there are cracks in the forestock and one in the butt stock, I do not belive that a clip has been fired through it in the past 50 years. The gun comes with a box of ammo (21 cartridges in all) and three clips. Any idea what the package may be worth?

Attachments

·
Registered
16,485 Posts
Hello and welcome to G&G. Nice looking rifle. Congrats on the inheritance.

Never heard of the ammo myself either. But then, It isn't a common round. May be one that has to be hand made/reloaded? But then, ask me, I don't know. lol

It sure is one healthy lookin' round aint it? Dog gone elephant load? Hang on to your boot straps when you pull the trigger on that one. lmao

Definitely hang onto any fired brass to reload or get reloaded. Especially from the 21 rounds you got with it...

·
Registered