Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am looking to get an AR15 or an AK47. I am wanting suggestions and opinions. Mostly I just want something reliable and decently priced. Price isn't that big of an issue. Any opinions? I am really new to the Semi-Auto Rifle Market.

Also, trying to find the best brands of those guns as well...

·
Premium Member
7,703 Posts
What do you want to do?

There are so many things to consider.

There is usually a price jump in comparing an AK to an AR.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I mostly just want to do targets and such. I ran into a guy with a Mak 90 last night and he let me unload two 30 rd clips and I fell in love! It was so accurate and easy!

My background is basically recreational handguns and shotguns. However I am wanting a rifle to add to my collection.

·
Registered
5,065 Posts
Either will give you reasonable accuracy within battle ranges, the AK47 has a history of greater reliability under adverse conditions, I'd say overall it's a personal preference of what you find more enjoyable to shoot , my personal preference is for neither, I'd rather have (if budget allowed) a good M1A1 or a garand but thats just MY preference. You'll generally have a ball with either of your choices.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am leaning towards the AR. Is an AR more readily available than an AK? What are the better brands of an AR?

·
Premium Member
7,703 Posts
Both guns can be highly customized. The AR being the most customized I feel, you can see a lot of threads about this in the AR forum

The AK47 is an awesome rifle. You already know how much fun they are

My personal preference is to get both ;)

I am leaning towards the AR. Is an AR more readily available than an AK? What are the better brands of an AR?
The AR is big with most simply because it's the weapon of the military here, the AK is popular in other countries just like the AR is to us.