Gun and Game Forum banner

What do you think?

• I\'d love to see completely new SKSs come out with all sorts of options like different calibers, fin

Votes: 22 46.8%
  • I\'d like to see an exact pattern reproduction made of the originals.

Votes: 3 6.4%
  • I\'d like to see them made with both US and original parts, like most AKs, FALs, and G3s.

Votes: 2 4.3%
  • I wouldn\'t find them practical or worth the money.

Votes: 5 10.6%
  • I think it would cease to be everything an SKS is.

Votes: 3 6.4%
  • Don\'t you have better things to do with your life than to post silly polls like this? Get a girlfr

Votes: 12 25.5%
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There are American FALs, American G3s, even American AKs...
What if an American company started putting out SKSs?
Of course you'd expect to pay American prices for American quality.

·
Registered
11,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I started drawing up designs for a rifle based on the SKS pattern chambered in everything up to 375 H&H, or at least 338 Win Mag, that would feed from BAR mags. Am I a nut or what?

·
Registered
11,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
On the check that pays my engineering school tuition...

I've actually considered someday buying some CNC tooling, getting an FFL, and actually makeing wild stuff like that. It'll be a while though. I have 2-3 more years left of Engineering school, and I'd want to have additional gunsmithing education if I went into building guns.

Other wild ideas include recoil operated carbines in 45, 44, 40, 357, and such that would use Thompson, Uzi, M1, or AK mags.

·
Registered
11,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
By the way, concerning option 3, it's not impossible to configure a US compliant SKS. You just have to "play the imported parts game" and follow the Tapco link from this site.

·
Registered
11,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·