Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the local pawn shop has a beautiful Ruger .300 cal rifle (stainless on black)but i can't seem to find any info on the web about it's specs.. dependability, accuracy etc. does anyone have any experience with this gun or links? they want $500 cash with scope and if it's a good deal i would like to hurry up and get it before it's gone.

·
Registered
15,235 Posts
dceptiv240:Hunting rifles usually dont sell that good this time of the year so I wouldnt be that nervous.I usually drop in and tease them a few times.As to the .300 Ruger I have no experience with one but take it it is another cartridge designed to do as good as something we already have like the .204ruger or Marlins lever revolution.They use special powders and bullets so you cant reload and match their balistics and if these special guns and ammo dont sell big time in a few years you have a rifle you cant find ammo for.I would look in to it very carefully.With all the old faithfuls I am leary of new cartridges that are almost equal to what we already have. samuel.

·
Chief Troll B' Gone
4,625 Posts
I am assuming its a Mark 77, chambered in .300 Winchester Magnum, the Mark 77 is a very dependable rifle, not known for extreme accuracy, but accurate enough for most tasks. Considering that the gun alone retails for $500.00, I would have to say the gun-scope combo is a great deal.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
i looked at the mark 77 hawkeye all weather .300 winmag

and yes i believe it's the one but it has a different stock than i've seen on the sight.

·
Registered
17,237 Posts
Depending on which actual model it is,Its hard to say but,Mk2 model 77 's start at 695.00 MSR or higher with an express model retailing for 1,625.00 so it may be a fair deal, with scope...You need to get us Brands and model numbers for accurate appraisals...
500 for a stainless .300 Mag is Not Out of Reason !
Rich