close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Artist's question: How powerful is 7.63 x 25mm?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Inquiring Mind, Oct 19, 2007.

1. Inquiring Mind

Inquiring Mind G&G Newbie

Hello everyone. I'm not a gun collector, and I know little of the tech aspect of guns, but I have a question. I looked for a gun forum to ask it on, and this one seems nice.

I know that 7.63 mm is more powerful than 9mm, but how does it stack up to say, 38s and 45s?

The reason I'm asking this is because I am an artist of sorts, and am working on a comic in which the protaganist carries a pair of Mauser C-96es. So basically, I want to know what sort of damage this caliber does to the body. (ie how big a blood splatter I should draw, how destroyed someone should look if they get shot in the head, etc) These would mostly be at medium-to-close range, by the way...at most, across a warehouse. I like to be accurate when it comes to gun damage...I don't go overboard, but I don't hold back either...if a bullet should blow a big hole in someone, then it will.

I know that there is a Mauser forum here, but I thought I would ask here since it's specifically about ammo.

2. SilverRun

SilverRun G&G Enthusiast

I am not an expert on the round, but I think it would be close to the 9mm or .38 special in actual precieved damage. I think you would be looking at small holes vs "destroyed".

3. rondog

rondog G&G Evangelist

Shoot man, you're an artist, use your artistic license and draw it however you want! Since when have comics been anything close to accurate?

4. Inquiring Mind

Well, I do generally try to be realistic, if only for myself. Too many comics, videogames, movies, etc have guns either overpowered (a 9mm blowing someone's head off) or underpowered (a 357 making a neat little hole)

I figure, if I'm going to the trouble of getting the gun's design right, I should get it's performance right, too.

5. samuel

samuel G&G Newbie