close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Autoloader Vs Pump

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Logansdad, Apr 29, 2002.

1. Logansdad

Logansdad Guest

What are y'all's feelings on say the Remington 870 vs the Remington 11/87. I bought a semiautomatic shotgun because if the going ever gets tough enough to start shooting a shotgun I might get too preoccupied to remember that I need to pump. What are y'all's thoughts on the subject ?:fuss:

2. Armorer

Armorer Guest

Pump is faster, smoother, and more reliable.

I've bet my life on my 870. I'm still here :)

I had an 1100, sold it.

3. jerry

jerry Since 2002 Forum Contributor

USA
    totally personal preference. I started shooting a 870 when I was 16. That was a few years ago. I shot my dads 11/87 and i kept yanking the forearm wanting to pump it. like driving a stick then going to an auto trans, you don't know what to do with the cluch foot. some can make the transition either way. As far as semi's I'm not a big gas operated fan. recoil operated is much less complicated in my mind, Browning A-5's, Remington 11/48's, Benelli M1's etc.
    in short practice with whatever your comfortable with. As a side note, the pump seems to be not as picky with some reloads where the crimp isn't perfect. just a small thing.

4. AR-tim

AR-tim G&G Newbie

WI