best scope for the money?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by JohnD, Mar 19, 2002.

1. JohnD

JohnD Member

What is the best scope for the money for varmint hunting? I want a decent scope for under $200 canadian. I am looking at a tasco varmit/tactical 6-24X42 @ $189 is this scope good enough for the job, I do not need that high of quality as long as it is accuate and holds a zero, It will be going on a .270 that already has a bushnell 3-9X40. That is good enough for deer hunting but long range coyotes it is not good enough. Also i want somthing with mill dots. anybody use these scopes? With the weaver detachable rings can I have both of them sighted in on seperate rings and swich them without loss of zero?

2. KidKwiK

KidKwiK G&G Newbie

I'm not really an expert on this subject, but awhile back I was looking at scopes and looked at abunch of diffrent reviews on the web. If I'm not mistaken alot of scopes are made by the same company and put under diffrent names. Try searching the internet for reviews on what your looking for it may help. Just my 2cents.

3. squirrelsniper

squirrelsniper G&G Newbie

Quite a few people will disagree with me on this, but I've had really good luck with BSA when it comes to the cheaper scopes. The optics aren't as good as higher priced scopes but I've never had one to lose zero and the adjustments are accurate on all of mine. The BSA scopes are usually in the same price range as a comparable Tasco scope too.

4. tonto

tonto G&G Newbie

I have a new 2.8x10x44 Simmons Aetec on my .270 great optics and priced good, they come in the higher mag. for varmints.
    But I have heard allot of good things about the BSA scopes for varmints, and they have the mildot reticle you are wanting too.

5. Shaun

Shaun Retired Moderator

Leupold always is a great choice and its a good scope for Hi-Shock Rifles

6. sadiehn

sadiehn G&G Newbie

I have and enjoy a bushnell banner 6x18 50mm good glass decent eye releif and real reasonable price 158$