Bluing a Rifle

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by dman24, Oct 1, 2010.

1. dman24

dman24 G&G Newbie

I have a Remington Fieldmaster 572 that has seen it's better days. There is some slight rust on the barrel and some of the finish is gone on the receiver. I want to refinish the metal, it was my grandpa's gun so I want it to last a good long time. I was thinking of cold bluing it or using duracoat. Which of these is easier, and toughest. It will primarily be a squirrel gun, not a safe queen. I want a finish that will last, but not break the bank to achieve a nice finished product. Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. scott_n06

scott_n06 G&G Newbie

Ive cold blued several guns and its super simple however if it wont last as long as duracote. Depending on which duracote you may have to bake it so make sure you can do that first.

3. huffmanite

huffmanite G&G Evangelist

I have not used duracoat, but have used numerous brands of cold blue. Best cold blue product I've used is Blue Wonder, followed by Brownell's oxpho blue. Both seem to be durable.

4. dman24

dman24 G&G Newbie

Thanks yall. I don't think I will have any trouble baking it if that is the way I go. Is the duracoat you bake stronger than the regular duracoat? Any help is appreciated.

5. Steve

Steve Master Gunsmith Staff Member

If it was your grand fathers gun why not spend the few extra bucks it takes and get a good prfessional hot blue job that will last hunderds of times longer than a cold blue and looks much better that duracoat. It should not cost over about $65-$75 to get it reblued.
    STeve

6. dman24

dman24 G&G Newbie

I may have to do that Steve. My only problem is I don't know of any gunsmiths at all around my area. I do like that idea, may have to find a gunsmith somewhere nearby.

7. lefty o

lefty o G&G Evangelist

mn
    a good hot dip blue is a much better choice than your other options. it will look right when done and be reasonably durable.

8. PAPA G