Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Remington 700 that I need to put a scope on. I live in Colorado, so this will be used to hunt mule deer and elk for the near future. I am new to hunting, but based on what I have read, I was looking at either a 3-9x or 4-12x scope. I was hoping to spend around $200. What recommendations do you guys have?

·
Premium Member
10,447 Posts
Hi there and welcome to G&G. There are so many brands and types of budget scopes these days. Thing is so many are similar. For $200 you wont find like a Leupold or Zies or Steiner but how about a simple Bushnell Like a Banner or other. Ii have at least a few on hunting rifles and are 3x9x40 and 3x9x50 and simple + reticle. I have seen some for about $150 or a little less on sale. I have never had issues with them. Im sure you will get replies from many as everyone has their own favorites.

·
Registered
MSR Shooter and Builder, Precision Bolt Action Rim & Center Fire enthusiast. Glock & 1911 pistoleer
7,942 Posts
SIG Buckmaster line should be under $200. Basically they took over what Nikon dropped.

Burris Fulfield II line.

Leupold Rifleman, has been discontinued but you might find one on sale for +/-$200.

·
Registered
8,517 Posts
I have a Remington 700 that I need to put a scope on. I live in Colorado, so this will be used to hunt mule deer and elk for the near future.
You specified larger game animals so I would assume a .308 caliber series between the 308 Win, 30-06, and 300 WM and there is recoil to factor in. In addition, you could be shooting out a good distance out West unless you work hard to carefully work your way up close.