buying soon..

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by 1GarandEnfield, May 15, 2008.

1. 1GarandEnfield

1GarandEnfield Guest

hello,
    In the next month i'll have saved about $1400 to spend on a garand. I live in ohio and am not to far from cmp, but, I dont have have the requirements to purchase from them. I do have several gunshows that come from month to month and have looked at pricing of the garand when i go. usally from 700 to 1300 dollars.
    I have a friend that has seveal garands and he said that he'd go with me to look. But, he also thinks that i should buy a new from springfield. So, I guess what i'm saying is that im at a lose...I dont know what to do.?!
    I'm extremely new to rifles I have a few handguns and I'm not wanting to buy a crappy rifle....I've been reading and coming here so not totally stupid...anyone got any pointer or suggestions.
    ? thanks

2. ericpolo

ericpolo Guest

Meeting the CMP requirements and going to the North Store would be your best bet. Last time I was there they had some nice Correct Grades that were around $900. With CMP rifles you know what you are getting.
    I would avoid the new commercial offerings from SA.
    What requirements are holding you back?

3. lefty o

lefty o G&G Evangelist

mn
    nothing wrong with the new commercial guns, but i would buy an original in good condition.

4. Hi 1GarandEnfield welcome to G&G.

First you have to determine do you want a collector or shooter rifle.
    A collector should be kept all original. You can shoot it, but it should not be refinished or changed.
    A shooter is one you change parts on or refinish the wood or reblue or refinish the metal. Or drill and tap for a scope.