Gun and Game Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone,

I want to add a Tapco collapsible stock to my yugoslavian SKS. However, this whole "ten or less compliance rule" confuses the heck outta me. So, In order for me to have this wonderful looking stock attached to my rifle, what do I have to do. So far Ive come to the following conclusion, please let me know if I am missing anything or If I can go about it another way.

Add American gas piston and operating rod.
Add American magazine (non detachable since I live in NJ)

Or should I remove the bayonet and grenade launcher. I kind of dont want to go about it this way since it will involve cutting, grinding and manipulation, all of which I am not good at. Also, if I remove the bayonet, would I have to cut off the lug too?

The Tapco adjustable stock contains 3 compliance parts, the stock, handguard and pistol grip FYI.

When replacing the parts, do certain parts count as more than 1. IE, the magazine counting as 2 points, and the bayonet as 3 or something like that. I cant remember.

Is there anything I am missing? Anything I should go about diffrently?

Thanks for the information in advance.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also, if anyone can provide me information on where to get a 10 rd non-detachable magazine for my SKS it would be appreciated.

Also, how do I go about removing the grenade launcher? Do i have to cut it off, or is there a screw, bolt, hinge etc that I can release?

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
There is a sticky at the top of this forum that addresses the legal stuff.
My advice?....don't do any of the stuff you're looking to do. You're gonna end up with a ruined rifle. The SKS is an excellent rifle best left alone, as most in here will tell you.
You could get everything you're wanting by buying another rifle already configured how you want ti for probably less money and certainly less aggravation.

·