Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Chinese SKS that I received from my nephew months ago in the form of a barreled action only. I put a colapsable fibreglass stock on it and all went smoothly up to that point. Took it to the range and it would fire only one shot at a time but not semi auto. I am new to SKS's and someone mentioned a gas tube ? Perhaps it would help to get one of those cheap owners manuals for $4.00 with an exploded view. Thanks for any suggestions you may make. It is clean but perhaps the gas tube is clogged ? Would that effect the semi auto cycling ?

·
Registered
223 Posts
sounds like cosmo in the tube or the vent hole is blocked. if you do break down the rifle make sure the firing pin moves back and forth in the bolt freely after cleaning or you may get a slam fire situation.

·
Registered
18,982 Posts
Might check to see if the operating rod is stuck in the rear position,no trasfer of recoil from piston then.:eek:

·
Registered
1,946 Posts
i think its the gas tube being clogged. cleaned mine the other day and i was ashemed of my self for letting it go too long

·
Resident Sasquatch
9,496 Posts
Pull the gas tube and piston and make sure the piston moves freely in the tube (watch out for the spring when removing the tube). If it does, try cleaning the gas port-the cleaner is about a buck or two. Also look for signs of carbon around the front end of the tube after shooting, if you see carbon, you need to seal\shim the gas tube.

·
Registered
381 Posts
this may sound like a stupid question but does the new stock interfear with the action?i have seen some aftermarket stocks cause problems in otherwise perfectly good guns.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·