Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
30,670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have two colt S.A.A. revolver replica's.
they both shoot to the left.
why?
i compensate for it so it's not a big deal.
but i am wondering if they all do this or not?
thanks fellas!

·
Registered
741 Posts
Get some instruction. If you are right-handed, it's probably you pushing to the left. It's a common problem. The Colt SAA has a rather small grip, and it's easy to push it. An instructor can study your grip and help you correct the problem. Might also be recoil anticipation. I have been a marksmanship instructor for over 30 years. I see it all the time.

·
Registered
15,235 Posts
If you have tried shooting offhand and from a rest (or you dont have this problem with other revolvers) and have the same problem both ways I would say the front sight is out of line.I know what I do to fix the problem for myself but would like to hear Moosemans answer. sam.

·
Registered
3,088 Posts
Get some instruction. If you are right-handed, it's probably you pushing to the left. It's a common problem. The Colt SAA has a rather small grip, and it's easy to push it. An instructor can study your grip and help you correct the problem. Might also be recoil anticipation. I have been a marksmanship instructor for over 30 years. I see it all the time.
+1
How far to the left? You might try some cowboy loads as they are reduced recoil, till you get a feel for the gun.

·
Registered
15,235 Posts
Come on fellas,the man shoots a .454 quite a bit!Give him a little credit for shooting knowledge. sam.

·
Premium Member
30,670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
about 3 in. to the left @ 25 yds.both of the piettas do this.
i do shoot the .454
some .357's
my 1911a1
a couple .38's
i am tellin ya...
these guns shoot to the left.
:)

·
Registered
741 Posts