close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Complete Newbie: Where to Start?

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Mico, Mar 21, 2002.

1. Mico

Mico G&G Newbie

I've never done handloading but want to start soon. Where can I find out about types of equipment, what's involved, etc? Went to my gun store but they're more into high-pressure sales than giving info.

2. lefty o

lefty o G&G Evangelist

mn
    you need a press,powder measure scale, dies, and most importantly as many reloading manuals as you can lay your hands on. what do you plan on reloading rifle, pistol, or shotgun?

3. Jack O

Jack O G&G Newbie

Hey Mico do a key word search on handloading or reloading. There are some sights that have step by step veiwing of reloading and they discuss it as they go along. I believe NRA has one but there are several to choose from to help you get beter acustom to handloading. Great new hobbie hope you enjoy it.

4. Mico

Mico G&G Newbie

Thanks, guys! I plan on reloading pistol and rifle, notably .32 ACP, .30 Mauser, .38 S&W for pistol and .303 and 7.62 X 54 for rifle.

I've heard the terms "single stage" used... I guess what I also wanted to ask is where can I find what types of equipment there are? Which is best (fastest)?

I had planned to get the stuff lefty o describes, but where to start?? Foir example, I've seen RCBS and Lee make dies for these calibers, but are they interchangable, or do each require their own machine?

5. Shaun

Shaun Retired Moderator