Complete Newbie

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by homesteader, May 29, 2008.

1. homesteader

homesteader G&G Newbie

So, I'm wanting to get into shooting, the only problem is that nobody in my family (or my in-laws) shoots. I have an Uncle who bow hunts occasionally, but that's about as close as it gets. I was not raised around guns and haven't ever fired anything besides a BB gun. I'm about as green as anyone can get. So where do I start?

My main interest is for hunting, ultimately, small game and deer, but I could definitely see enjoying honing my skills-to-be at the range. My wife and I plan on having our own ranch/homestead with livestock, so for butchering as well. Then there's the self defense portion, but for me that's lower on my list than my wife's. As far as budget, that's pretty flexible, I'd rather go with quality for both instruction and firearm.

From reading forums and articles on the internet, I'm thinking it's a .22LR, probably bolt-action for starters. My main question is how do I begin, take a class (may need to purchase a rifle first), buy a rifle, visit a range? I'm kind of lost. It seems most of the 'newbie' threads are written by people who already know someone, and have gone to a range, but I'm not even there yet.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Big Dog

Big Dog Retired IT Dinosaur Wrangler Forum Contributor

An excellent way to begin is to take the local "Hunter Safety Course". A call to your local Sheriff Department should get you the contact info.
    Visit the range and talk to some guys - find out who seems to know their stuff - a bunch of us at my outdoor publlic range enjoy introducing new shooters to the sport.
    I am very into shooting the rimfires (.22LR, .22MAG and .17HMR) myself. I usually have a couple small-bore rifles along to get the new guys some 'trigger time'.
    The local LEOs should have contact info for more structured training too.

Best of luck with your new sport! :)

3. HARDERTR