downloading .357

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by single shot, May 21, 2008.

1. Hey - just wondering if it was cool to down load .357 mag to somewhere between .38+p and the mag velocities. I would think it would be-just looking for conformation. I am loading 110gr hornaday XTP with titegroup powder. Any problem with increasing the airspace.

Single shot

2. mitch_mckee

mitch_mckee Guest

I'd be really careful. Follow the manuals! Sure, you can do it but empty space can be a problem. The tried and true manuals will give you a good lower vel load.

3. I'd have to agree with Mitch. I'm no expert, in the early stages of learning, but one thing I was told, you can always do what you want, but to be on the safe side, go by the manuals. If it's safe to do, it'll be in 100% of them. To go outside the box so to speak to me not only risks injury, but could also damage the firearm. Of course the more important one is yourself. As others have said, it's yours and you can do with as you wish, but do remember, you've been warned. lol

4. samuel

samuel G&G Newbie

The manuals all say not to go below min.load,I believe them. sam.

5. I'm with Samuel

Safety is what really matters. Your safety, the safety of those around you when you shoot, and the safety of others who might (with or without your permission/knowledge) put some of your loads into their guns.

Use the reloading manuals. They are made by professionals who understand the dynamics of what they are recommending.
    Also, the manuals cover a wide variety of performance ranges making experimentation not a viable course of action.

6. rfc357

rfc357 Guest

Best to load .38 loads in .38 cases. I have seen evidence of pressure spikes with light loads in .357 cases, especially with Unique. Do not go below min loads in the manuals, especially with powders like H110 and W296.

7. SwedeSteve

SwedeSteve Freedom Zealot Forum Contributor

Sticking with the manuals is really smart advice!

8. SL11

SL11 G&G Newbie