Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I'm just getting into rifles and I just bought a Ruger 10/22. Thats fun for plinking and target practice but I live in Wisconsin and the two main game hunted in my area are black bear and whitetail deer (and I love eating both). I plan on going hunting next season. If I'm lucky I can save up some money and get gift cards for Christmas and my birthday in January. So I'm thinking about the Remington SPS Stainless/Synthetic or the Ruger M77 Hawkeye Stainless/Synthetic in .308 or .30-06.

My reasons for the Ruger are:
-Scope rings mount directly to the reciever and are included with purchase.
-Heard they have great customer service and I'm a previous owner.
-Like the guns looks
-New Trigger (seems to be better than before)
-American made

My reasons for the Remington are:
-Great reputation
-Some sniper rifles are modeled after the 700 series
-Always wanted to try a Remington
-American made and company has been around for a very long time 1816, I believe