close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Flektar kevlar vest

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by Klaus, Jul 17, 2002.

1. Klaus

Klaus G&G Newbie

My kevlar body armor/flack vest came in today. It looks pretty nice. The kevlar is about 1/8" thick and seems to be 4 or 5 layers. Does anyone know how that compares to "bulletproof" vests? I am thinking it is roughly equal to a level 2, but I am not an expert. It is certainly much better than the vests I wore in the Navy as part of the Security Alert Team. It looks well worth the money I paid Tapco.

Last edited: Jul 17, 2002
  2. wes

wes G&G Newbie

Is it Dry clean only?

3. Klaus

Klaus G&G Newbie

I think it can be laundered in warm water, after the kevlar is removed.

4. Doglips

Doglips G&G Newbie

Not sure how to wash forign vest..but in the USMC while in lebnon we just took our kevlar vest with us to the shower....little soap and a fingernail brush... I'm sure there is some way to test/determin the level useing math...but since I tend to still use Marine logic I'd say shoot it with handguns starting with 22 and going up.....course I'd recomend not wearing it while testing :)

5. BenP

BenP G&G Newbie

Typical Level II. Put a little plate steel behind the kevlar for higher levels.

6. Doglips

Doglips G&G Newbie

Ben may have an idea...put trama or the cermic plates in it....

7. jerry

jerry Since 2002 Forum Contributor

USA
    there was just a recent program on armor, History channel I think. Sometimes they repeat. Very informative.

8. Rooster

Rooster G&G Newbie

The plates go in front, of the vest, not behind the ballistic material. Check out the Second Chance body armor web site. Also make sure its a Ballistic vest for bullets or just a flack vest. There is a difference. Not knowing which one you have could give you a bo-bo.

9. Some bloke by the name of Ned Kelly had an idea like this too.:p

10. jerry

jerry Since 2002 Forum Contributor

USA
    love his steak house! ;)