Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fair warning: I'm VERY new to ARs. After research that includes skimming through forum posts here, I have concluded that one would be hard pressed to find a folding stock that's compatible with an AR platform. Am I right in this assumption? If so, is there some inherent design element of ARs that make a folding stock undesirable?

·
Premium Member
24,835 Posts
You are correct. The AR design has a spring loaded buffer tube, behind the bolt, that is enclosed in the butt stock.

Thus, the stock can not be folded.

Reactions: ChaZam

·
Registered
4,243 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for lending your expertise, guys! I've been thinking down the line about building myself a truck gun that I can also easily use to hunt occasionally, which is why I'm considering portability of the rifle package pretty heavily. Ten Man's post also explains why collapsible stocks are a thing with ARs, as the stock can still be shrunk as short as the spring system. I'll take these things into consideration, when I put together the rig!

·
Premium Member
24,835 Posts
Ten Man is correct. There is however an adaptor. I would have a hard time trusting such a device though! Also the weapon can't be fired with the stock folded. A buddy of mine has one or one like the one at the link on his AR, it functioned while we were on the range.

http://www.brownells.com/rifle-part...6-gen3-m-folding-stock-adapter-prod71553.aspx
"and a setscrew keeps the adapter securely affixed to the receiver."

Riiiiiiiiggghhhttt.

I wouldn't trust it, either.

Reactions: Brandhard

·
Premium Member
24,519 Posts