Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never understood why a 'Man' needs the biggest baddest handgun he can carry to defend himself but a woman needs a little small caliber pop gun? Do most husbands or boyfriends think that women are only attacked by smaller more fragile bad guys?
I've been a Cop 31 years. I don't recall any stats that would support the notion that women should carry less gun than a man. My Ex-girlfriend was 114 lbs dripping wet and didn't have problems with a 'Man's Gun'. I think the answer is more training with more gun, not less gun.

·
Premium Member
3,727 Posts
lots of the wemon in our lives dont have the same pasion for guns that we do, that being said they dont jump at the chance to go and practice like we do. on the same note i think if i had started MY ex off with a 45 or 357 the recoil would have scared her off.

·
Registered
20,562 Posts
And to add to what squirrelbaster said : I don't think women would want to carry large pistols on there person.
Mike you do make a good point though and if my wife ever ask me to go buy her a 44 magnum pistol.
I'll do it, but I don't think she would be comfortable toteing it around.

Have you looked in a womans purse lately ? There may not be anymore room in them for a medium to large handgun. LOL

Has anyone asked there wife or girl friend for something and they say : Look in my purse !
I'd reather shell a bushell of butter beans than look for something in my wife's purse !

·
Registered
5,065 Posts
Well I bought the Missus a .38 Spec revolver for Christmas a couple years back and she rather likes it, she's shot my Hi-power and M1911A1 but is uncomfortable with the levers and magazine release buttons and other safety features. She likes to shoot and has become quite the marksman! I'd feel real bad for anyone threatening her while she was armed!

·
Registered
1,267 Posts
Discussion Starter #5