Front sight problem

Discussion in 'The Powder Keg' started by joncs25, May 16, 2008.

1. joncs25

joncs25 Guest

I just bought a rifle recently and when i got a chance to shoot, it was shooting really low. I had to raise the back sight to about 600 to get it to be on target at about 100 yards. I have a N.M. front sight on a Dutch barrel. Anybody know any tricks?

2. M1 Sight "Problem"

It most likely isn't a problem at all. First off, if you're using a more-or-less "stock" M1 rear sight, the graduations of the elevation drum really don't mean too much... if anything, for that matter. (I've been firing the ol' girl for over forty years, and have never paid the markin's any mind, t'all..)

Here's what to try:

Go to the range, and run the rear sight all the way down as far as she'll go.
    Put in eight (8) clicks of "up" elevation -- leave the windage alone for now.
    Load and fire a group of three shots at 50 yards, being very sure to use the same sight picture and sight alignment for each round.

This should put you on the paper; I'd recommend a fairly sizable sheet to begin with. If the group's more-or-less centered and just a tad... say, one or two inches high... move the target out to 100 yards. If, however, the group is very low, put in three more clicks of "up" and shoot another group of three. If it's centered/high, go on to 100 yards, and shoot a group of three.

Now, by examining the group's placement, and remembering that one click of either elevation or windage moves the bullet strike one inch at 100 yards, you can get your rifle zeroed using your ammo and your shooting techniques on your range.

If you insist, you can adjust the elevation drum readings to "match" the ranges you are going to use. I find it much easier with my rifle, however, to remember how many clicks to "come up" for 200 and 300 yards. (I don't have access to a range greater than that.)

HTH

Ben Hartley

Last edited: May 17, 2008
  3. joncs25

joncs25 Guest