Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5,413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So tomorrow Im planning to take alittle trip into the mountains for two reasons. One is to scout out a good camping spot for the future with the wife and friends and dogs and everything. the second objective is to find a place to shoot. From what i can tell it is ok to shoot in this area. I just hope to find some remnants of others shooting there and hopefully there are no people around.

here are some links to where I'll be going. I do have a 4x4 and will be probably over prepared for any extraneous circumstances.

https://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/arp/recreation/?cid=stelprdb5163234

https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/arp/recarea/?recid=28490

it's called fall river reservoir, its about an hour away from my home in Denver Co. I really want to find somewhere i can shoot freely within an hour or so drive so this is my first attempt, if this doesn't pan out there are 3-4 other potential spots within 30 mins of this area.

Im looking forward to the time outdoors and the adventure, i dont really care what happens as long as i go somewhere ive never been before and learn more about my surroundings.

the last few months i havent really been able to get out and do what i have wanted to due to life getting in the way. I'm determined to change that tomorrow.

·
Registered
11,318 Posts
you got about 7 jillion square miles of grassland out to the east side of Denver.

good luck.
NF lands are open to hunting and shooting finding a good spot where some crybaby isn't already camping might be the tough part.

I generally just go directly across the dirt road from the rangers station if I'm gonna go up and shoot [one of my grouse spots is right there too and everyone overlooks it] but it's about 8 miles further away than the range here in town.

·
Premium Member
24,835 Posts