Heads up on a quality scope for low price

Discussion in 'Optics' started by huffmanite, Aug 31, 2010.

1. huffmanite

huffmanite G&G Evangelist

Last week I got a Nitrex TR2 3-15X42 SF scope. It is one of the discontinued model Nitrexs Natchez Shooters Supply has at discount pricing. Nitrex also has a $50 or $100 rebate depending on if scope is a TR1 or TR2 series scope.

Nitrex box has "Nitrex by Weaver" on it and scope is made in Japan with same optical glass and inner parts/design as the Weaver Grand Slams and Super Slams. Nitrex has a one year over the counter exchange and also a lifetime warranty. Place to send a Nitrex for warranty is same place you send a Weaver scope.

Mounted the Nitrex on a 7mm-08 and took it to range Sunday to sight in and have my fellow shooters see it. Wanted their opinion on the scope. Selected 5 guys I've been shooting with about every Sunday for a couple of years to check out scope. They are very experienced and serious about rifles, scopes and etc. Most of their rifles will have Leopolds, Nikons, Burris and etc., so thought they'd be able judge quality of the scope.

After viewing the scope, playing with its adjustments and features, trying the SF and sighting thru lens at a 100 yard target and 200 yard berm beyond it, all gave very positive comments about it. They thought the glass/optics were very very good, comparable to glass in their top brand scopes. Each was surprised by price I paid for it, expecting it to be a lot higher in price. One guy made a comment that sums up the way I feel about the scope....."if the scope holds up, has no internal problems, then its a heck of a scope for a heck of a price." Time will tell on the hold up part.

Seems the Nitrex TR1 and TR2 series are same as the Weaver Grand Slam and Super Slam scopes. Both Nitrex and Weaver owned by ATK, who also owns CCI, Speer, Federal. Nitrex brand has existed for about 3 years.