Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently aquired what looks like a bit like a Euro-Style 98 Mauser. It has very few markings, no crests, and no dates like most converted Mausers. It has a type of elevated express rear sight on the barrel with 2 moveable leafs, 98K type bolt with the oval gas ports, 8X57 stamped in barrel, serial number apears to be WRG 0518, There is a tiny W stamped in the bottom of the recoil lug, It has a very tiny simplistic eagle with the number 1 stamped in the right side of the recoil lug. It has much the same look as some Huskvarna commercial Mausers considering bolt handle design, sights, and stock design.
I will try to add some pictures for your consideration. I like the Mausers but I'm no expert. Thanks for your help on this one.

·
Registered
8,151 Posts
To me it looks like a standard Mauser Sporting Rifle. Almost like a Model 77. The front sight is what all later Mauser sporting rifles have. I thought it might be a K98 bubbaed to a hunting stock but the shield on the butt plate is a Mauser Logo. Looks more like a hunting rifle than a bubbaed military.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought for sure all you Mauser guys would know what this Mauser is, or where it came from. I find it a bit perplexing that whoever made it didn't mark it any better than it is. I'm still looking for some clues.

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
To me it looks like a standard Mauser Sporting Rifle. Almost like a Model 77. The front sight is what all later Mauser sporting rifles have. I thought it might be a K98 bubbaed to a hunting stock but the shield on the butt plate is a Mauser Logo. Looks more like a hunting rifle than a bubbaed military.
I have to disagree about the but plate "logo", it looks like several butt plates I have that I got from Herter's and Brownell's. The gun looks like a nice post war conversion, probably brought back by some occupation GI.

·
Registered
20 Posts