Gun and Game Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to the forums so let me say Hi.
I want to get a Deer rifle for hunting with my girlfriends family but I am on a small budget. I have been doing the footwork over the last week and found out about the mosin. I guess what I am wondering is what would be the best deer rifle, scope, stock, etc. for medium range plains hunting. I have read good things about the 44 but I am wondering if it is the best for a deer rifle. I apologize if I sound to needy and unintelligent, but I am pretty new to guns.
Thanks for all of the help.
Jason

·
Banned
1,026 Posts
Welcome to G&G mate.Dont be afraid to ask questions.Good bunch on here,lots of know how.

I have my rifle for deer,i use a BRNO model 602 300winchester magnum.

Not knowing what sort of budget rifles you lot can get over their ill just say that the nagants are a good strong rifle,a little agricultural but most shoot well.

·
Registered
9,224 Posts
while the mosin is a decent rifle, for a first deer rifle, you will be better served by one of the savage/stevens package guns.

·
Registered
70 Posts
I'd agree with lefty. Savage's are a lower priced set of guns yet good enough to start with. Find a packaged set with a scope for your best unintelligent buying options.

My first deer/elk rifle was a Winchester model 70 in .270 in black synthetic stock with a Simmons 3X9 50mm objective scope that I bought at a gun show. I had read up and specifically chosen that rifle before I decided to buy it, for relative decent quality, low pricing, and durability.

Any other questions, feel free to ask on here. Guys on here won't think you're an idiot just because you don't know firearms very well.

·
Registered
980 Posts
i use my m-44 to deer and coyote hunt from time to time. the only down side i realy see is the bad saftey it is a little hard to use.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts